[Repost] What Alexander Rybak teaches me

Note: This post is merely in English.

I gotta admit I’m kinda crazy about Alexander Rybak, the Eurovision 2009 winner with the song Fairytale. He has been one of my favorites for a long time, and today I want to feature him on my blog using one of my old posts (read more below).

This was written on June 3, 2011 – one year and a half ago. The writing was a little awkward as that was when I was still an amateur and hadn’t studied Mr Vu Ho‘s THIỂU NĂNG class (an English writing course) to know all about the theme-rheme stuff. LOL

***

Alexander Rybak

Who is Alex? Alexander Rybak, the winner of Eurovision Contest 2009.

You know what? I can learn at least 5 lessons from him.

1st, it is the way he does. Seeing Alex’s smile, I feel much happier. So do others. Why do people often feel excited when looking at him and watching him performing? Because of the way he spent all his energy on his performance. It seemed that all his heart was poured into singing and playing violin.

“Pour your heart into it” – the same lesson I learned from CEO Howard Schultz of Starbucks.

2nd, he does what he loves – playing violin. He believes that playing violin is great. And he got success with his career.

“You’ve got to find what you love…” – Steve Jobs.

3rd, he wants to change the way people feel and think about classical music. In other words, he wants to change the world.

“… the only way to truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work.” – Steve Jobs.

4th, success doesn’t come by accident or luck. Alex talked about his childhood that, “I practiced 4 hours each day, while the other children were playing.”

Practice makes perfect.

5th, after his heartbreak, he wrote “Fairytale” and won the Eurovision Contest 2009 for that song.

You can get something good out of something bad, so think positive.

***

…And I realize, I can learn lessons from anybody if I pay more attention to their stories.

Leave a Reply

